To recognize the important role and valuable contributions of our volunteers, the MoMMA's Voices Coalition has established Hope Awards to be awarded to people who epitomizes the true spirit of volunteerism in the three following categories. The people receiving these awards are major contributors to the hope we maintain for this cause! The awards will be presented at the Summit | Champions for Change in Maternal Health in the greater Houston area on October 19, 2019.


Anyone can make a nomination. When making your nominations please reference the eligibility criteria associated with each award.


All volunteers are eligible to be nominated however, members of the foundation’s Board of Directors as well as paid staff and contractors who are financially compensated by the Foundation are not eligible.


An awards committee will be responsible for selecting the winner. The committee will consider the following guidelines when evaluating each nominee:


Promise Walk Chair of the Year


The Promise Walk award will be awarded to a Promise Walk Chair who embodies the characteristics that make this signature event successful and sustainable for years to come.


Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Leadership – Effectively lead their local Promise Walk by successfully recruiting, motivating, and utilizing their committee and volunteers.

  2. Sponsorship – Secured at least $2500 in sponsorship at their local walk.

  3. Mission Family – Secured and coached the Mission Family to give a successful speech at their local Promise Walk.


Spirit Award


The Preeclampsia Foundation will award the Spirit Award to a volunteer that embodies a selfless and encouraging attitude. The winner will be selected based on outstanding dedication, initiative, motivation, and positive attitude.


Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Dedication – Nominee is dedicated to the cause, offering consistent time and talents to the foundation.

  2. Initiative – Nominee is a creative thinker, and brings their own ideas to the success of the missions.

  3. Motivation – Nominee is supportive and motivational to others in the community.

  4. Positive Attitude – Nominee maintains a positive outlook and celebrates successes, while dedicating themselves to this serious cause.

Champion of the Year


The Champion of the Year Award recognizes one outstanding volunteer for their valuable contribution to improving outcomes in maternal health, ideally across multiple mission areas: improving healthcare practices, patient education, patient support, legislative advocacy, public awareness.


Eligibility Criteria:

  1. Nominee has demonstrated sustained or remarkable accomplishments in one or more mission areas.

  2. Nominee is a true asset to the cause, exemplifying what it means to be a champion for change in maternal health.



Winners will be notified by September 1, 2019 and must be present at Summit to accept their award. 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon

MoMMA's Voices is a program of the Preeclampsia Foundation.

Preeclampsia Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, Tax ID# 91-2073087.

©2019 Preeclampsia Foundation. All rights reserved.